Scroll Top
2207 Stallings-Evans Sports Center, Chapel Hill, NC 27599

Undergraduate Fellowships

Undergraduate Fellowships

The Matthew Gfeller Center is home to several undergraduate research fellowship programs aimed at providing talented undergraduate students interested in concussion-related research a rich and unique opportunity to integrate into ongoing research projects conducted by world class faculty. The Jenner Carey Bryan Fellowship and Guskiewicz Fellowship are two such programs.

Drs. Kevin Guskiewicz (Left) and Jason Mihalik (Right) with 2023-2024 class of Fellows: Ally LaNasa (left, Jenner Carey Bryan Fellow), Pascale Paul (center, Guskiewicz Fellow), and Bridget Treanor (right, Jenner Carey Bryan Fellow)

Jenner Carey Bryan Research Fellowship

Named in memory of Jenner Carey Bryan who passed away on March 17, 2016. Jenner loved sports of all kinds and appreciated efforts to improve safety for athletes. His family established the Jenner Carey Bryan Award so that undergraduate students at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill could work toward improving safety in sport, while keeping Jenner’s memory alive.

The Award was established by Jenner’s aunt and uncle, Drs. Lisa Carey and Matt Ewend, and made possible by donations from Jenner’s family and friends. The award will support undergraduate students competitively selected to engage in research at the Matthew Gfeller Center for a 5-week summer internship, followed by an internship during the 2024-2025 academic year. The awardees will each receive a $1,000 summer stipend, and a $1,000 stipend during the 2024-2025 academic year.

Eligible candidates must be full-time undergraduate students with a minimum of one full semester remaining prior to graduation next academic year.

Applications and Faculty Endorsement Letters are due on March 22nd, 2024.

Guskiewicz Undergraduate Research Fellowship

Named in honor of Chancellor Emeritus Kevin Guskiewicz, the 12th Chancellor of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and the founding Director of the Center for the Study of Retired Athletes (CSRA), this undergraduate research fellowship will provide a wide range of opportunities for the talented candidates to learn and impact the CSRA’s efforts to provide high-level research and clinical care in the areas of former athlete mental, physical, and social functioning. Since 2001, the CSRA has brought hundreds of former NFL players to campus to help improve their health and well-being so they can fully appreciate life after sport as well as conducted meaningful research on many former athlete populations.

This fellowship award will support one undergraduate student engaging in research at the Center for the Study of Retired Athletes. Students will receive $1,500 during the 2024-2025 academic year (split evenly between Fall 2024 and Spring 2025).

Applications for next year will open in early 2024.

Any questions related to these opportunities can be directed to Caprice Roberts at

Diversity, Equality, and Inclusion

We recognize that a diverse, equitable, and inclusive environment for faculty, staff, postdoctoral fellows, and students enriches our university by building creative teams that foster scientific discovery and enhance our teaching mission. As a clinical research center, we are passionate about creating and sustaining a diverse and inclusive environment for everyone. It is therefore our policy not to discriminate on the basis of age, color, disability, gender, gender expression, gender identity, genetic information, national origin, race, religion, sex, sexual orientation or Active Duty or Veteran status.

We are also committed to providing a safe environment for our team and for our campus community. Many members of our team have completed several training opportunities, including:

HAVEN (Helping Advocates for Ending Violence Now): in collaboration between the Equal Opportunity and Compliance office, the Carolina Women’s Center, and Student Wellness.
Green Zone Training: to train members of the Carolina community to know more about the issues and concerns faced by military-affiliated students and to identify individuals who are available to assist this population
Safe Zone: A program designed to create a network of allies for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex, queer, and allied (LGBTQIA+) students.

Fellowship Alumni

Drs. Guskiewicz and Mihalik with 2022-2023 Fellows: Thalia Hernandez (left, Guskiewicz Fellow), Morgan Cloud (center, Jenner Carey Bryan Fellow), Marina Torres (right, Jenner Carey Bryan Fellow)

2021-2022 Fellows: Kenan Sayers (left, Guskiewicz Fellow), Emma Dums (center, Jenner Carey Bryan Fellow), Bradley Lauck (right, Jenner Carey Bryan Fellow)

2020-2021 Fellows (not pictured): Nicole Welsh (Jenner Carey Bryan Fellow) and Caroline Ha (Jenner Carey Bryan Fellow)

2019-2020 Fellows: Anna Castellano (left, Jenner Carey Bryan Fellow), Avanish Madhavaram (center, Jenner Carey Bryan Fellow), and Caroline Parrott (right, Jenner Carey Bryan Fellow)

2018-2019 Fellows: Kou Yang (left, Jenner Carey Bryan Fellow) and Jamie DeCicco (right, Jenner Carey Bryan Fellow)

Veterans Day
Veterans Day

The Matthew Gfeller Center honors all those who Served. Thanks.


Tanner Award
Tanner Award

Ling Beisecker was awarded the 2024 Tanner Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching by Graduate Students.


Privacy Preferences
When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in form of cookies. Here you can change your privacy preferences. Please note that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we offer.